Early 2013, I decided I wanted a cockatiel for my birthday. I came to this realization after spending hours video chatting with my best friend Crystal, who shared with me her delightful cockatiel. His name? Broly.

Many of you might recognize the name “Broly” from the cartoon, Dragon-Ball Z. Broly is a name I never new I would grow fond of, but now, it’s my favorite name in the world.

Broly seemed to really enjoy video chatting with me. He always perked up when he heard my voice, and would look for me. He was the most beautiful bird I had ever seen, and I knew the moment I saw him, that I had to have him. I felt a connection to this little bird, and I couldn’t explain it to anyone. It’s as if somehow God and the universe knew we belonged together.

Anyway, I’m getting ahead of myself. πŸ˜› I began the search in January, 2013. I scoured and searched Craigslist and Facebook, hoping to find a cockatiel for sale to a loving home. Sadly, I couldn’t find one. I my heart, I longed for my very own Broly. Defeated, I went to bed. The next morning, my best friend Crystal messaged and called very early. I was worried something was wrong. I’ll never forget the conversation. I remember exactly what she said. She told me she had finally found a cockatiel just for me, a male like I had wanted! My heart filled with joy, but I felt like something was missing. She said the person was willing to give me the cockatiel, food, toys, treats, cage and all under the condition that I promise to give him a good home, and a good life. Of course, I agreed! Then, she finally told me… “It’s Broly.” I was in shock at first. I kept repeating myself, and stuttering. (This is how I respond to excitement.) I remember asking if she was absolutely sure, and she reassured me that she was. I cried with happiness. I couldn’t believe my luck, my good fortune that is all thanks to my best friend, Crystal. I was, and still am, moved beyond belief by her love, generosity and kindness. ❀

I’ve had Broly for years now, and he is and always will be my baby boy… My first little feathered angel. I now have a little bird family of four. I have Broly, my normal grey cockatiel, Kiwi, my pineapple green cheek conure, and my two beautiful parakeets, Jack and Sally. Broly just recently got a nice new cage, along with nice ladders and toys to explore.

Broly has gotten me through basically everything since I have had him. I have to say, my life has substantially improved with Broly in my life. I have been officially dubbed a “crazy bird lady,” and I’m completely happy with that! The world is a better place with the love I feel in my heart for my little feathered angel. ❀